Bay of Islands

Okay, so here I am on my third day in Paihia and currently posting my photoblog about my stay here. Paihia is the main tourist town here in New Zealand’s Bay of Islands. So, as of today, it is quite jam-packed given that yesterday was the last day of office for most companies, and especially now that it’s summer. The influx of people is tremendous, so better get those reservations booked guys.

Weather was perfect, it was sunny but with a cool breeze. Food in Paihia? Well, choices of food stalls and restos are very limited so don’t expect much. What I can advise is to just buy some meats, veggies or whatsoever at the nearest grocery – Countdown – and just cook whatever you want for the duration of your stay. Accommodations here usually have common kitchens for everyone’s use.

The abundance of activities and beaches are the two main things that Paihia is being recognised for. Most people do paddle boarding, kayaking and parasailing, while others just hang out in the beach, sunbathing while chatting with their mates. Some of them bring foods while others prefer a nice cold beer just to cool off the summer heat. As for me, on my second day, I just booked a bus tour going to Cape Reinga (which will be the content of my next post) and just strolled down by the beach on my first day.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Paihia is a great place to stay if you really want to get away from the busy streets of the city (3 1/2 hours drive from Auckland), and literally escape your emails and phone calls as the reception here is not that good haha!

Here are other photos I’ve captured 😁😉

Thanks for dropping!

Leave a comment